REVIEWS

of Port Townsend Watercraft

PT Watercraft offers kits for new and unique boat designs that are efficient, functional, modern & attractive.

 

© PT Watercraft 2013

 

Customer Comments:

“Over the years I have built my house, my garage, and a couple stitch and glue projects. I'm impressed with the quality of materials, the obvious level of engineering and forethought, and most of all the techniques espoused in the build manual. For someone who lives in a somewhat remote area, this is as close as a guy like me can get to a boat building school. I'm enjoying learning some tricks from an obvious master.” P.S. in Alaska October 2012

“I just wanted to say thanks again, for the PT11 kit and the nice visit today. The kit contents look great -- very impressive. Also, after looking through the manual I just wanted to say WOW. You folks could give lessons in manual-writing to NASA. And I've seen some of their manuals.” J.J. Olympia 2013

Cruising World magazine article by Capt. Fatty Goodlander’s, ‘ON WATCH’ feature titled, “That Maniacal Gleam” on page 18-21 June 2012 issue.  The article highlights some of Capt.Fatty’s take on boat design evolution, including the PT 11 nesting dinghy. Thanks, Fatty!

About the PT 11: (The boat) “..is preparing for a major delivery, to the Galapagos and then the Marquesas. The PT 11 is my favorite part of the boat, I row her and keep my snorkel fins in the hatch for free diving.” ...Captain C.Y.  St. Lucia, May 2012

On the PT 11 manual: “ I included the balance owed plus a little extra for the updated manual.  I'm sure it has saved me at least that much in time and frustration.  I can't believe how well written it is.” F.W. California, 05, 2012


Wooden Boat Magazine’s 2012 “Small Boats” issue currently contains a really nice article about the PT Eleven by Tom Jackson. Lots of great small boats are featured so please look for it on your news stand!

or here:

http://www.woodenboatstore.com/WBs-SMALL-BOATS-magazine-2012/productinfo/201-007/

4 page article by Dieter Loibner in the August, 2011, Soundings.  Pdf..618kb.  (Reprinted with permission from Soundings Publications LLC)http://www.ptwatercraft.com/Soundings_PTS_2011.pdf

Click photos..

See a review by Aaron Porter: Professional Boatbuilder review July 2010


A review by Meade Gougeon in Epoxy Works  #30. Click article to see readable image.

Can’t find a page?

Try the compass.

OrderingOrdering_from_PTW.html
Hatches & HardwareHatches_and_Hardware.html
Specials +Specials_and_Gifts.html
PT SPEARPT11_Spear.html
PT 11PT11Home.html
PT SKIFFPT_Skiff.html

“Great boat, fine design, great lines. Performs the way she looks as though she should.


Fantastic manual and kit. If I had paid attention to every nuance of the manual carefully read I would have made no mistakes. As it was I read carelessly in places and paid the price, but nothing happened that was not recoverable. Using this manual has been a short course in boat building. Buy the manual even if you never build the boat...”

read more

The PT11 nests so well, rows and handles so well, and the reinforcement points are so well thought out, and the whole darn thing is so well thought out that overall I'm more excited about my dinghy than I am my kayak or sailboat. Never thought I'd say that, it's a dinghy after all.” P.S. Alaska 2013

The boat (PT11) continues to work out great and is a joy to use.  We get a lot of people asking about the boat when we are out. I think the PT11 is a really good choice for people cruising  on smaller boats or those without big engines like ours. With so little drag to can tow it while sailing a small boat and not even notice.” T.W. Seattle 2013

I didn't really realize how much of a delight to build she's been until the bumper had been stuck on and I was a little disappointed that there wasn't anything left to do except go sailing.” S.K. New Zealand  PT11, 2013

PT Watercraft offers kits for new and unique boat designs that are efficient, functional, modern & attractive.

Our focus is on creating boats that answer the needs of serious cruisers, weekend camp cruisers and environmentally conscious boaters, sail and motor. Featuring: the fuel efficient 18.5ft center console , PT Skiff, Russell Brown’s modern performance nesting dinghy series, carbon marine hardware, water tight hatch kits, hatch toggles or ‘turn dogs’, adjustable wind shields, dinghy rigs, sails, dinghy foil kits, original PTW stainless steel connective hardware, stitch & glue and epoxy instructional books, etc...

R&D by Russell J. Brown with various design collaborations with Paul Bieker and Eric Jolley of Bieker Boats, Jim Franken of Franken Design, Brandon Davis of Turn Point Design, Paul Zeusche of Townsend Bay Marine, Sean Rankins of NW Sails. Special thanks to our honorary consultants, John Marples, Dick Newick, Jim Brown, Brian Clark, Tom George, Sandy Goodall, John Harris, Alex Spear, Tim Nolan, Meade Gougeon, Ted Pike, Chris Grace. Wood for our kits comes from Edensaw in Port Townsend, WA. Our preferred epoxy is WEST SYSTEM  from Gougeon Brothers. Lots of great stuff we use comes from FISHERIES SUPPLY in Seattle. Publicity thanks to Wooden Boat, Professional Boat Builder, Small Craft Advisor, Epoxy Works, and our customers!..+

"I have started and I love it! What an amazing design, kit and manual. I think I told you I did a bit of ply epoxy work, but this is honing my skills to a next level. …."

Y.B.  Wales UK 2014

“I'm about a third or so through the build (PT11) and absolutely loving every minute of it. Even though I've built a number of small boats, I am learning quite a bit. The manual covers so many little tips and techniques that really make a difference. It's going to make me a better boatbuilder. Thank you for that.” R.W. MA USA July 2014

“I know I can see/feel a good boat design when I see it, but your kit continues to amaze me. The panels line up sub-millimetre perfect with tight joins between hull panels, frames locating perfectly on chines and alignment notches, and chine angle changes spot on the hull panel edges. Sure, from time to time I need to file a millimetre or so off a tongue where the router hasn’t been able to “square” the corner.

 

This is a quality kit.

 

I knew from the photographs I had seen and the very small hull line drawings that the PT Skiff was a nice boat, but getting to the point where I can see the curves of the panels has blown me away. This is a gorgeous boat. It is easy to see why it planes so well, and I can see the heritage of the boat in its lines. It is definitely a skiff.” B.O. AUSTRALIA October 2012

Very good manual with lots of up-to-the-minute advice on epoxy work.  Thanks! MM of Olympia WA

Novemeber 2, 2010

We took our little skiff up to the High Sierra Regatta earlier this summer.  The event is held on Huntington Lake, which is east of Fresno up in the mountains.  Our kids were racing their Opti's, and mom and dad got to try fishing and sightseeing from the skiff.  Here are a couple of shots to prove we were there.

Still nothing but rave reviews where ever we take the boat!

Thanks for a great ride”, JM, CA;owner of the first prototype

It has been 3 weeks since I took delivery of Russell's first kit. This is not my first boatbuilding project, nor my first kit. I can without reservation say that this project is the most thought out and detailed kit and manual I have seen. The parts fit together flawlessly and if you follow Russell's manual verbatim you will end up with a beautiful looking and well built boat. There are lots of little tricks and steps in the manual that, while they may take more time initially, will crate a stronger and better finished boat later.” JB Seattle, WA, Feb. 2010

“Hello all,

 We kept our little skiff very busy last weekend here in Los Angeles Harbor as a coach boat in our LAYC Harbor Cup regatta.  I had the sailing coach for the US Merchant Marine Academy on board Friday, Saturday and Sunday while they competed with nine other college teams.  The skiff was a really neat boat for the task, and in about 12 hours of use Friday and Saturday, burned 5.1 gallons of fuel.  We had fun surfing on other boat's wakes, and enjoyed many, many compliments on how attractive the skiff is.  It leaves very little wake compared to Boston Whalers and RIBs with their 50 and 70 HP engines.  I have attached several photos of us taken during the regatta.

All in all, a very satisfying boat!  I hear lots of members in Los Angeles Yacht Club now have skiff envy.”

JM, CA;owner of the first PT Skiff prototype, March 2010

Overall the build process from picking up my kit at Russell's shop to getting on the water was 22 weeks. This included time off on Sunday's for skiing with the family in winter, and soccer games in spring. However, 5-6 months is a reasonable build time for anyone with a regular job and some family commitments.


Hey, I enjoyed it, and now I enjoy being on the water. PIKA has exceeded our expectation in her utility as a runabout and camping boat for the Puget Sound area. We have powered her with a new 25hp E-Tec, which proved plenty powerful. On a recent trip to Deception Pass, fully loaded with 3 adults, 1 child, 8 gal of fuel, and food/gear for the day we averaged 1.25-1.5 gal/h running between 15-18 kn. I am still learning when its best to use the water ballast since so far we have been running loaded for every outing.


One thing is certain, she turns heads wherever she is. Paul and Eric drew a beautiful and functional hull, and Russell provided the insights and experience to build her strong and light. Thanks guys, we are having a blast. The PIKA crew

“....  We have towed our skiff up to Huntington Lake in the Sierra's for the High Sierra Regatta 2 weekends ago, and it has been through the Golden Gate earlier this season.  Also several outings here in LA harbor.  The boat is just great! “

JM, CA;owner of the first prototype, July 19th, 2010


“Its not a case of if I’ll build this boat but when I can start it. I cant remember when I last saw a design that jumped off the page at me like this one.” MB Jan.2011

About the PT Skiff Manual

“I've read many boatbuilding books and never thought that I would label any a page-turner, but your Building the PT Skiff comes pretty close. You have created by far the most informative, thorough, and clear boatbuilding manual I have ever read. Kudos to you and thank you.

W.H. Mentor, Ohio” 2011

“The other thing that delays me is I enjoy it too much! And it relaxes me. I stand back and admire the quality of the wood, and how things look. Once it takes shape, I'll admire how  the flat panels pull together to make the graceful curves.” GG of Virginia April 2012 about his progress on a PT Skiff

“I want Russell to know that the puzzle joints were a perfect fit. Two of these joints required a little effort to get perfectly flat, but that less than 1 minute each. The remainder just slid into place, but importantly there was no “slack” in the joints. They fit perfectly. The result is perfectly aligned panels and a sub-millimetre join after glueing. The resulting panels show a perfect curve to the eye and feel.

 

I have previously needed to file puzzle joints in another build to get them to fit. Not with your kit. I know you said you were happy with the joints after manufacture, but you cannot do better than the result that I have received. I do not know what you did to get to this standard of manufacture, but please keep it up for other customers.”  B.O. Adelaide, Australia July 2012

Excerpt from Professional Boat Builder magazine  #122

I just wanted to thank you for the techniques you presented in the e-book.  You have turned a chore I dreaded (working with epoxy) into a semi-enjoyable task.  With each glue-up I get neater and neater with the epoxy.. I don’t know how I ever got along without it!

“...Yup, the PT11 was launched back in late August. I somehow didn't manage to get photos when it was warm and sunny -- I think I was having too much fun rowing and sailing around. Of course I spent a lot of time answering questions from folks who admired the PT11...” JJ WA 2014

“It was your  PT11 kit that made my dream of having a sailboat come true!!!!!   Randy and I can’t quit talking about how grateful we are that you guys put so much heart and thought into such a beautiful and smart kit.  She sails and rows like a dream!  Highlight of our summer to build and sail that boat! So thankful for you and Russell.” K.K. from WA 2016